The Pearl Fishers

We were delighted to announce our new production for 2017, Bizet’s ‘The Pearl Fishers’. In this moving tale set in Ceylon, two men’s vow of friendship is threatened by their obsession with the same woman, a beautiful priestess, who battles to suppress her feelings of love in order to uphold her sacred oath.  Directed by former Scottish Opera young artist Lissa Lorenzo, a star-studded cast is led by Monica McGhee, who was part of the internationally successful opera group, Amore. Welsh tenor Thomas Kinch returns to Opera Bohemia in the role of Nadir, with Scotland’s Douglas Nairne and Michael MacKinnon as Zurga and Nourabad, completing the cast.  The production also features the company’s first professional chamber chorus, and is accompanied by the Opera Bohemia Ensemble under the baton of Alistair Digges for some performances and in a special arrangement for solo violin and piano for others. With beautiful melodies, rousing choruses and opera’s most famous duet, this promises to be a magical night at the opera. Sung in French with English Surtitles, running time approximately 2 hours.

Cast:
Leila – Monica McGhee
Nadir – Thomas Kinch
Zurga – Douglas Nairne
Nourabad – Michael MacKinnon

 

 

 

 

 

 

Chamber Chorus:
Stephanie Stanway
Chrisni Mendis
Stephanie Maitland
Lynn Bellamy
Christian Schneeberger
Conor Smith
Nicholas Cowie
Christopher Dollins

Musical Director – Alistair Digges
Opera Bohemia Ensemble
Solo Violin (and leader) – Feargus Hetherington
Piano – Geoffrey Tanti
Director – Lissa Lorenzo
Designer – Magnus Popplewell

Venues & Dates

Tuesday 25th July 2017
Wednesday 26th July 2017
Friday 28th July 2017
Saturday 29th July 2017
Wednesday 16th August 2017 (orchestral performance)
Thursday 17th August 2017 (orchestral performance)
Saturday 19th August 2017 (orchestral performance)
Sunday 20th August 2017 (orchestral performance)
Tuesday 22nd August 2017 (orchestral performance)
Wednesday 23rd August 2017 (orchestral performance) 
Friday 25th August 2017
Saturday 26th August 2017