Scotland’s professional touring company returns with Verdi’s comic masterpiece Falstaff. Based on Shakespeare’s Merry Wives of Windsor, the opera revolves around the unlikely, plump protagonist, Sir John Falstaff and his farcical attempts to seduce women in order to gain access to their husbands’ wealth. With rhythmic pace and beautiful melodies, Falstaff is as energetic and exciting musically as it is dramatically. Award winning director Adrian Osmond and designer Kenneth MacLeod team up to create a dynamic new production with a star studded cast including former Scottish Opera emerging artists Andrew McTaggart and Hazel McBain and Opera Bohemia favourites Douglas Nairne and Catriona Clark. Sung in Italian with English surtitles and accompanied for some performances by The Opera Bohemia Ensemble, under the baton of Alistair Digges, and for others by leading Scottish pianist Andrew Brown, this promises to be a thrilling night at the opera.


Falstaff – Andrew McTaggart
Ford – Douglas Nairne
Alice Ford – Catriona Clark
Nannetta – Hazel McBain
Meg Page – Fiona Mackenzie
Mistress Quickly – Susan Moore
Fenton – Seumas Begg
Dr Caius – Christian Schneeberger
Bardoflo – Kenneth Reid
Pistola – Jonathan Sedgwick

Director – Adrian Osmond
Designer – Kenneth MacLeod
Musical Director – Alistair Digges
Opera Bohemia Ensemble
Piano – Andrew Brown





Venues & Dates

Wednesday 11th July 7.30pm
Ayr Gaiety Theatre
01292 288235

Thursday 12th July
Strathpeffer Pavilion
01997 420124

Saturday 14th July
Lossiemouth Town Hall

Sunday 15th July
Aberdeen Arts Centre
01224 641122

Thursday 9th August (orchestral performance)
Dumfries, Theatre Royal
(Absolute Classics)
Ticket info coming soon

Tuesday 14th August (orchestral performance)
Venue and ticket info coming soon

Thursday 16th August
Dundee, Whitehall Theatre
01382 434940

Friday 17th August (orchestral performance)
Lanark Memorial Hall
01555 667999

Sunday 19th August (orchestral performance)
Glasgow, St John’s Renfield Church
0141 332 5057

Tuesday 21st August
Greenock, Beacon Arts Centre
01475 723723

Thursday 23rd August (orchestral performance)
Stirling, Macrobert Theatre
01786 466666

Friday 24th August (orchestral performance)
Edinburgh, St Cuthbert’s Church
0131 226 0000